Bit of a Tangent

022 | 6 Books You Need to Read in 2020… and 1 You Probably Shouldn’t

January 21, 2020

Gianluca presents his much-requested three non-fiction and three fiction recommendations for 2020. Jared recommends a book so long and gripping that you should probably avoid it if you have anything productive to do in the next six months. 

---------------

Shownotes:

---------------

Jared (twitter.com/jnearestn) and Gianluca (twitter.com/QVagabond) on Twitter

Bit of a Tangent on Twitter (twitter.com/podtangent) and Instagram (www.instagram.com/podtangent/)

Last week’s episode: www.podtangent.com/e/021-the-top-19-ideas-from-2019/

Gianluca on Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/user/show/56535709-gianluca

Books Gianluca read in 2019: www.goodreads.com/user_challenges/14773941

Algorithms to Live By, by Brian Christian and Tom Griffiths: www.goodreads.com/book/show/25666050-algorithms-to-live-by

80000 Hours podcast with one of the authors of Algorithms to Live By: https://80000hours.org/podcast/episodes/brian-christian-algorithms-to-live-by/

Inadequate Equilibria by Eliezer Yudkowsky: https://equilibriabook.com/

Eliezer Yudkowsky’s Sequences: https://wiki.lesswrong.com/wiki/Sequences

007 | Game Theory, Alignment, and Civilisational Inadequacy: https://www.podtangent.com/e/007-game-theory-alignment-and-civilisational-inadequacy/

Meditations on Moloch: https://slatestarcodex.com/2014/07/30/meditations-on-moloch/

The Replacing Guilt Series by Nate Soares: http://mindingourway.com/guilt/

Half-assing it with everything you’ve got: http://mindingourway.com/half-assing-it-with-everything-youve-got/

Discussions of Replacing Guilt on The Bayesian Conspiracy podcast: www.thebayesianconspiracy.com/2019/08/92-replacing-guilt/

Surfing Uncertainty by Andy Clark: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25823558-surfing-uncertainty

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman: www.goodreads.com/book/show/12067.Good_Omens

Neil Gaiman on the Tim Ferriss show: https://tim.blog/2019/03/28/neil-gaiman/

The Metropolitan Man by Alexander Wales: www.goodreads.com/book/show/22872436-the-metropolitan-man

Alexander Wales on the Bayesian Conspiracy podcast: www.thebayesianconspiracy.com/2018/07/63-rational-fiction/

The Metropolitan Man audiobook (free podcast): www.hpmorpodcast.com/?page_id=1705

The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin: www.goodreads.com/book/show/20518872-the-three-body-problem

The Paper Menagerie by Ken Liu: www.goodreads.com/book/show/39803561-the-paper-menagerie

Worm (the webseries you should probably never read): https://parahumans.wordpress.com/

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App